M. Night Shyamalan Is Directing Last Airbender 2

01/09/2014 08:56

Remember the Aang’s adventure in Avatar the Last Airbender? It was a good story right? Even for an adult like me, I find this cartoon quite interesting and entertaining. But how about the movie version? Well, it was a disaster for me. I don’t know what the director, M. Night Shyamalan, was thinking about in making the film. And now, I just read news that he is back for another sequel. Oh come on! He is going to ruin Avatar the Last Airbender again!

What made the movie even worse in my opinion is the movie’s cast. They were horrible in their acting and their portrayal of the character was way off than they should be. I didn’t see the fun and somehow irresponsible side of Aang. Zuko didn’t appear angry to me. Most of all, our beloved Sokka is not funny or even witty. Katara on the other hand seems to be ok for me. And as far as I remember in the cartoon, Aang doesn’t appear like a blue-eyed Caucasian kid to me. Sokka and Katara were supposed to be brown skinned and Zuko is not an Indian. Take note, I am not a racist but I think the director is. There’s this rumor that the director has racist hiring practices.

Another thing M. Night Shyamalan did to murder Last Airbender is his version of firebenders. Weren’t firebenders supposed to bend fire out of nothing? If we watch the cartoon again, we don’t see them carrying torches. In the movie, it is hilarious to see firebenders carrying torches. So, if we douse the torches with water they would be extremely powerless.

It seems like Shyamalan is really serious in making the sequel. While, many Avatar cartoon fans were cheated after watching the movie, Paramount is keen on making another sequel, especially since the movie was able to rake in tons of cash. Yes, the movie may have been a mockery, but I really hope Shyamalan do something about his previous mistakes and make the sequel a quality film fans would enjoy.